DesignPusher™ /

Contact / Shop / Data



Neubau Forst Catalogue.


Additional Info:

Neubau Forst Catalogue is the book that architects, designers, graphic designers, and illustrators have only dreamed of until now.

Neubau Forst Catalogue is a collection of detailed silhouettes of urban trees and separate tree sculptures. In years of manual work, using a method developed especially for this project, these details have been digitally removed from their original urban surroundings in Berlin.


The Berlin trees were selected according to a special matrix. The letters of the name of the design studio, |N|e|u|b|a|u|, were laid over a map of Berlin. The trees that were located at the structural anchor points of the letters were marked to appear in the Neubau Forst Catalogue. Over a period of time, from 2009 to 2014, these trees were systematically photographed, documented, and catalogued in the summer and winter seasons. Neubau’s process of selection and distillation gives the trees a timeless validity, and they can be used universally in future visualisations. Additionally, so-called “tree modules” were removed from existing separate trees. They can be set in front of both dark and light backgrounds of any kind and photographed without any flash. There are endless combinations of ready-to-use trees and different modules. Typefaces, geometric patterns, and pictograms are the major building blocks that the Austrian born, Berlin based designer Stefan Gandl has used to construct not only his studio, Neubau, but also an entirely new realm of signs, which he and his international team are constantly expanding.


The Neubau Forst Team (2009—14):

Akane Sakai (JP), Bhav Mistry (UK), Benjamin Ganz (CH), Cezanne Noordhoek (NL), Christoph Grünberger (DE), Daniel Cottis (US), David Pope / DesignPusher (IR), François Leherissier (FR), Joerg Petri (DE), Lukas Reinhard (DE), Marine Stephane (FR), Margarida Castel-Branco (PT), Marius Hanf (DE), Maximilian Voormann (DE), Miriam Busch (DE), Moritz Otten (DE), Oriol Salles (ES), Paul Heys (UK), Robert Loeber (UK), Stefan Gandl (AT), Thomas Holmes (UK), Will Smith (UK).






facebook twitter email link





Return to top ↑